Rituals fill a purpose

Emptying my bladder has become a nightly ritual, due to a prolapse. No, don’t ask! I ease my legs out of their cocoon of warmth, rubbing my knees to help bring back circulation. To my embarrassment, as I bend and reach for my slippers a fart escapes me. Keeping my eyes half shut to keep them warm and not wake up completely, I feel my way to the toilet. After a rather inconsequential pee, I wash my hands and have a sip of water. Like a blind person I quietly wend my way back to bed. If I don’t get up to do this, I lie awake. This ritual settles me down to sleep. If by chance I wake my beloved, he then, not so quietly, rises to do the same, shattering the darkness with his torch.

The Daily Post, Ben Huberman                                                                                                              Think about your day. Select one of your daily rituals and explain it to us. Why do you do what you do? How do you come to adopt this ritual? What happens on days when you can’t perform it?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/daily-ritual/

 

 

10 thoughts on “Rituals fill a purpose

Leave a Reply

