All the world….

Today’s prompt could encourage me to share, boringly, how I remain lazy, not wanting to take the next step with manuscripts. Instead, I prefer to share with you a quote my mother used to use of Robert Owen’s. As I get older the more relevant and true it becomes:

‘All the world is queer save thee and me, and even thou art a little queer.’

Do we become more critical and discerning as we get older? Are we more accepting when young? Sometimes I feel uncritical, but if I allow myself to think deeply, this adage rings true. Meditation allows me to obliterate such thoughts and calmly proceed.

So why worry about what is sliding, one day I shall attend to it, if there’s time.

 

Daily Prompt. Set to Rights by Michelle W                                                                                                                               Think of a time you let something slide, only for it to eat away at you later. Tell us how you’d fix it today.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/set-it-to-rights/

15 thoughts on “All the world….

    1. bkpyett Post author

      I wonder if children would be ready for it though! Plus the language would be difficult for them to appreciate with its real meaning! I guess that could be discussed! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Janet Mclean

    My Dad often used a slightly different version of this quote and I often find myself recalling it when I think about some of what I see and hear about what is happening in ‘all the world’ today.

    “All the world’s a little mad except me and thee and even thee’s a little mad’.

    I think I was a little put out when Dad said this to me – But as a child I did get the joke, and later enjoyed saying it myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. bkpyett Post author

    Cynthia, thank you for your comment. I agree about the shame of lost words. I still use gay and queer, with their old meaning, my silent objection to their being expropriated. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Cynthia Jobin

    I think I agree with you, Barbara….we become more “discerning”…..Discerning is such a nice word….and speaking of words, when I read quotes like Owen’s I find myself wishing that political correctness had not co-opted those good old fashioned words queer and gay so it is impossible to use them in their original meanings anymore….

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

