To do or not to do:

Morton’s Fork by Michelle W.                                                                                                           If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? Why?

If I had to choose between writing a blog or reading others’ blogs, I would choose writing my own. Selfishness must come with any artistic endeavor; otherwise we wouldn’t achieve anything.

That is the why, but I would miss the input of other people’s ideas. There are many posts that I really love reading and some not so much. There is never enough time to get around the huge number of fantastic posts that I haven’t yet discovered! So writing takes precedence. Blogging can be very time consuming, and if one wants to write, one must be disciplined to keep that time for writing.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mortons-fork/

18 thoughts on “To do or not to do:

  1. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    I’m afraid I am in a bit of that position now and I know I have chosen to post my own and visiting although I miss it takes second place to be done when I have some extra time. I do try and get around every so often. Also my posts don’t take near the time that visiting does. I don’t write as much, do more photos and spend only a small amount of time. Reading everybody else’s posts can take me hours and I’m not one to just stick a like on without reading it first. Gosh, what if I didn’t like it…..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Irene, I think everyone understands the time element. It would be lovely to have enough time to read all the blogs that we’re interested in, but there are so many other things to do! Life gets in the way!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Sorry Hilary, I’m one of the naughty ones at the moment. Maybe that will change. The computer goes in to be fixed today, who know how long it will take to be mended. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Silver in the Barn

    I read other people’s blogs for YEARS. If I wanted to continue doing only that, I never would have started my own. But I would miss the give and take enormously. I always think of my blog post as just the first half. What you have to say completes it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. notquiteany

    I choose the extreme approach which is to write a blog that no one reads. It allows me to rant and rave and carry on if I want without anyone caring to read. And if they do read? I don’t know. Bash them with a stick?

    I don’t view my blog as writing itself since writing is something more honed and crafted. It’s a release and it’s fun and it’s slowly bordering on scattered. I used to write a writing blog, made it on to freshly pressed, and now – I read Mark Twain and put down whatever BS comes into my head. Which, while reading his collected works and essays, I feel is what he would do. He would be bashing people with sticks all day long… he would also be the king of twitter.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Loved your quirky response notquiteany, I’m sure you’re being far too humble, and to be freshly pressed, that’s impressive!
      I guess blogging can be a bit like a therapy session, allowing our thoughts to wander on the web, like recalcitrant school children.
      One is never quite sure what is acceptable, but after a certain age, one doesn’t care! Thank you for your visit, please don’t bash me with that stick when I visit yours!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

