Jonathan Holmes’ grammatical hate-list

Jonathan Holmes is a well known journalist in Australia. I love reading his articles and so want to share with you his thoughts about grammar and the changes that we are seeing to our language. There have been several end of year summaries, but Jonathan makes some good points. More can be found in the Age newspaper article mentioned below:

Like a lot of people who write for a living, I’m a bit of a pedant. And like a lot of pedants, I have some pet hates. Here’s my current list of the grammatical and linguistic solecisms that drive me (irrationally, I admit) to distraction.

http://www.theage.com.au/comment/-12f3do.html

16 thoughts on “Jonathan Holmes’ grammatical hate-list

  1. Silver in the Barn

    And In Massachusetts, land of the Pilgrims and Paul Revere, American English has sunk to new lows. Now it is common to hear, “Him and his wife went shopping.” “He gave it to Todd and I.” And the inexplicable “I could care less.” Oh, I better stop now. I could be here all night! Happy New Year, Barbara!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      My, the feminists wouldn’t like this! Thank you Barbara for adding to this immensely provocative subject! May your year be filled with light!

      Like

      Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      This book sounds really good. In this house we are continually commenting on pronunciation too. Debris now has the accent on the second syllable. It’s hard to accept all of the changes….
      It is interesting to see ‘I’ being used incorrectly. She/her is another that is often used the wrong way around too. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

