Eccentricity/ Difference:

One? There are many and this could make a whole series of posts. If you asked my siblings they’d probably say it was me. Being the only daughter with four brothers, I was bound to be different. I also view the world differently. Difference can be considered odd. I don’t wish to present my idiosyncrasies here, but let it suffice there are many.

Of course, in Christopher’s family there were a plethora of characters that would tick all the boxes. It’s somehow easier to look at others’ oddness, rather than discuss my own.

Can you remember the TV program, Keeping up Appearances with Hyacinth Bucket? That was Christopher’s mother to a T. She held the same values and it wasn’t just the family that imagescommented on this similarity. Her house was always immaculate and her superlative taste was always recognized. One of her friends gave her the book about the TV program and she was delighted, not realizing that people were laughing at the similarities.

Christopher found it very difficult when he took the grandchildren home. They used to end up at my mother’s house as she had vegemite, or what ever the children wanted. Diversity makes for a more interesting society and is to be encouraged, not thwarted. It is just difficult when thinking becomes rigid and not flexible enough to accept others as they are.images-1

We all have that one eccentric relative who always says and does the strangest things. In your family who’s that person and what is it that earned him/her that reputation? Ben Huberman

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/cousin-it/

21 thoughts on “Eccentricity/ Difference:

    1. bkpyett Post author

      We had Great Aunt Dolly, whom I have written about previously. She was a delightful eccentric!
      I love the name of your blog, obviously in memory of your adored great aunt!!

      Like

      Reply
  1. sistasertraline

    Ha! I call a friend of mine ‘Hyacinth’ all the time because she’s a social climber, denies her humble background and lives in the Shires. She likes to tell herself that she’s more like one of the young, good looking ‘Desperate Housewives’ so she’s not impressed for the most part!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Elaine @ foodbod

    How funny! You reminded me of my Grandmother – if anyone new visited the house she would take them of a tour and show them her ‘riches’ (special plates/silverware etc) and she would clean the house for the cleaner to come!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Silver in the Barn

    OMG!! Barbara! My mother IS Hyacinth Bucket pronounced Bouquet. Whenever she gets too out of line, my father will say “Ok, Hyacinth!” and that enrages her! My father’s name happens to be Richard, by the way. “Richard!” My husband and I cannot even watch the show because we die laughing.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      We are the same Barbara! Except Chris’s dad was Eric. He had a wonderful quiet way about him, but could say, what others dare not say to his Mrs. Bouquet. How funny that your mum is so similar!! xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

