Marianne Faithful

www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkiIbeb2xxo

 

default

‘As Tears go by’, sung by Marianne Faithful was a song I used to listen to when I was feeling sad. I first came across it when I was at art school in 1964. It later appealed to me when my marriage broke down and the strings and percussion that accompanied Marianne Faithful’s wistful tones would echo about me. ‘As Tears Go By’ allowed me to enjoy wallowing in sadness.

I didn’t realize Jagger and Richards wrote the words. It was the young Marianne Faithful who spoke to me with her youthful voice that encouraged me to sing along with her.

This was a similar song to ‘Yesterday’ that the Beatles sang. That too rated highly with me. Those words too had the same effect. So if you feel like a good cry, have a look at the video and sing along!

It is the evening of the day

I sit and watch the children play

Smiling faces I can see

But not for me

I sit and watch

As tears go by

My riches can’t buy everything

I want to hear the children sing

All I hear is the sound

Of rain falling on the ground

I sit and watch

As tears go by

It is the evening of the day

I sit and watch the children play

Doing things I used to do

They think are new

I sit and watch

As tears go by

You’re asked to recite a poem (or song lyrics) from memory — what’s the first one that comes to mind? Does it have a special meaning, or is there another reason it has stayed, intact, in your mind? Ben Huberman

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-heart/

8 thoughts on “Marianne Faithful

Leave a Reply

