Sweet and spicy?

ScanThe spice of success

 ‘If failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor’ (Turman Capote), how spicy do you like success stories?

A discussion on radio about Mills and Boon publications prompted me to read my first M&B novel. In Australia there are 76 writers of these books and I wondered if I would be able to write one, just for fun.

The book I read was ‘Since you’ve been gone’, by International best selling author, Anouska Knight, which was very sweet.

I really don’t think I’m sweet enough to dollop out such saccharine sweetness/spiciness in my writing. Success might be sweet and spicy, but I am drawn to write less palatable prose, and therefore less popular stories. My beloved thinks it would be fun for me to embark on such an adventure, but I don’t think I’m up to it! I shall struggle on writing what feels right for me.

I shall read ‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North’ by Richard Flanagan when my beloved has finished reading it. This will inspire me to, hopefully, better things. This book deservedly won the Man Booker Prize 2014. What an inspiration Richard Flanagan is!Scan

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-spice-of-success/

12 thoughts on “Sweet and spicy?

  1. ChristineR

    My sister used to read two M&B a day when she was young, while I’d read westerns. I was thinking of writing erotic fiction under an alias, that would appeal to me more than the sweet and spicy stuff.

    Barbara, it might have been before my time as a follower, but I completley missed that you have written YA novel (I just saw a post from last May). How is that going?

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      M&B are looking for authors, and I like that one could write under another name. Good luck with that one Christine!! I completed the novel, ‘Angels behind the scene,’ but am not totally happy with it, so shall send it in later and see what an editor thinks.. I’m waiting on the return of 2 other pieces. Have to span them out, due to the cost of getting them edited. I think it is worth doing that, rather than sending them into a publisher, just to be rejected. Though the first book published I didn’t get edited, lucky I suppose. The publishers did change a few things.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. ChristineR

        That’s a good idea with the editing, Barbara. One imagines one could smash out a Mills and Boon in a few months, but I suppose it isn’t that easy. Might look into it when I finish my draft. 😀

        Like

    1. bkpyett Post author

      Barbara, I shall, but it may be a while before I get to read it! I’ve heard some really good reviews though about ‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North.’ Hope you do get to read it too!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. M-R

    I don’t think you could POSSIBLY do it, Ba – you’re far too honest a person.
    I think Christopher is looking at such a project as nothing but frippery and fun; but it takes a very specific kind of brain to write that stuff. Make him read one first !!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

