May his memory live on:

 

I’d like to remember our wonderful Prime Minister Whitlam who died today. One of his thoughts corresponds with my own. It went something like:

‘I’m not immortal, I’m eternal.’

The man who tried to bring equality; introducing free education to universities, encouraging Australian generated Arts, amongst the many other egalitarian issues he broached.                    May this impressive man’s spirit live on.

 

At what age did you realize you were not immortal? How did you react to that discovery?

(Thank you for suggesting this prompt, Swoosieque)

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/finite-creatures/

 

 

11 thoughts on “May his memory live on:

  1. ChristineR

    Barbara, the year Gough became Prime Minister was the first time I was elible to vote, so I fondly remember the “It’s Time” campaign. We lived in a safe Liberal seat, it being Malcolm’s Fraser’s electorate. 1972 was the first time I even became aware of politics. I cannot remember my parents voting, but I imagine my dad was a Labor man since he was in the Australian Workers Union ( for shearing). My betrothed, a staunch Labor man, wore the t-shirt with pride when he handed out the how-to-vote cards. Oh how I wish I could still feel the same about the bunch we have today!

    R.I.P. Gough. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      It is good to hear your memory of that time Christine. I was living in Switzerland then, but followed from a distance, very excitedly. I returned to Tasmania in 1975. The whole country seemed to have changed at that time. My divorce was made easier because of the laws that had been altered. So many things changed for the better. Pity we don’t still have free education… Yes, I agree, Labor needs a strong leader.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Swoosieque

    It sounds like a great man has passed from our time into the ages. I love your quote,‘I’m not immortal, I’m eternal.’ And, I love how you interpreted the prompt and responded!!

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment! 😀

    Like

    Reply
  3. bkpyett Post author

    I met Whitlam when I lived in Queensland and he had a very charismatic personality. I felt akin to him immediately and admired his appreciation of the Arts in Australia, turning the scene around from being Eurocentric back to our own continent. I was devastated when he was ousted from office. I like to remember him as a visionary.

    Like

    Reply
  4. M-R

    I like you loyalty, Ba. I fear I have to confess that in Whitlam’s time I was a [gasp !] voter of the other colour – and that was largely because I found him arrogant beyond description. I have no memory why this is, but I know that’s what it was about. I’m older now, and would not have the same priorities.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

