Haste is the essence:

10 minutes. You and your keyboard. No pauses, no edits, no looking back. It’s free write time! Ben Huberman, Daily Post

Night falls as I search for my keys. Where is she? I’ve got to find her before she falls into his hands. Where did I put them? Think!

Where did I last have them? He may have caught her already. Be still, relax, they have to be here somewhere. Hidden under my clothes strewn by the bed, they are nestled in a jumper. I grab them and rush for the car. Did I get petrol? Is there enough?

I press the door opener, nothing happens. The power is off. A torch, all I need is a torch, so I can find the pamphlet to tell me how to manually open the door. I feel as if my feet are dragging through mud, I’m so slow. She might be screaming , needing me, I’ve got to hurry!

She needs me now. Where’s that pamphlet. Ring, Ring! I wake in a lather feeling fraught. She’s alright, I can calm down now.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-4/

18 thoughts on “Haste is the essence:

  1. avian101

    Very good Barbara, you wrote 10 lines and created a sense of anxiety to the brink with the story and then abruptly gave the reader time to breathe in relief with your short but key ending.
    I liked it very much. Thanks for the story! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Thank you M-R!! Today, after Maggie felt her comments were not getting through I’ve been going through the comments and on page 35, here is one from you that didn’t get through!! It’s much appreciated, if a bit late! ❤

      Like

      Reply
      1. M-R

        Oh, I grow so TIRED of these WP glitches that come and go. We don’t know what’s going on,by and large … The one that drives me absolutely bonkers is when people I follow suddenly become unfollowed without my doing anything !
        Smoke comes out my ears.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

