Ginger Nuts

 

IMG_2943

Ginger nut biscuits and recipe below:

4 oz (112 g ) butter or margarine ( I use butter)                                                                             into a saucepan with 8 oz (224g ) sugar                                                                                             1 Tablespoon of golden syrup

Melt together and let cool before adding

1 beaten egg                                                                                                                                     Then 8 oz ( 224g) SR flour                                                                                                                    ½ teaspoon carb soda                                                                                                                          6-7 teaspoons of ginger powder                                                                                                        Mix up over night and leave in fridge till next morning.

Make into small balls, I like to press the top into sugar and flatten a little. Bake in moderate oven for 10-15 minutes.

Easy peasy!! These are the biscuits I bake to send with Chris to the football, as the group he meets love these.

 

30 thoughts on “Ginger Nuts

  1. Pingback: The Great Bread-Making Adventure | Master of Something I'm Yet To Discover

    1. bkpyett Post author

      That sounds really exciting and am thrilled this recipe might come in handy! There are always sponge cakes you can buy and fill, if you like the traditional cream cake!!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Master of Something Yet

    Ooh yum. But why do you and M-R keep posting recipes that require ‘night before’ preparation? Not my strong suit. I tend to remember just as I’m going to bed so I either have a very late night or it goes by the wayside for another day.
    They do look very yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Silver in the Barn

    Please translate for your American readers! NO, just kidding. Bicarb of soda is baking soda, I assume. Golden syrup? Corn syrup, maybe? And SR flour is self-rising, right? I adore ginger, Barbara, absolutely love it. I will be trying these.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Barbara, I’ve just discovered this comment on page 51 of the comments. I didn’t realise there were ‘pink’ comments hidden away!
      You have deciphered and translated the recipe, so that’s good! I tried several times to answer your lovely post with letter to Jacqueline Kennedy, and couldn’t make contact, so shall say here how moving I found them. What a wonderful post you wrote, thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. bkpyett Post author

        I was wondering if it was my computer, I’m not very tech savvy! Have others mentioned that they couldn’t make contact? I hope it was just a passing glitch. ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

