Rewriting and resorting:

Camellia 'Donation' little bruised after rainstorm

Camellia ‘Donation’
little bruised after rainstorm

Today I have been attempting to rewrite part of my memoir. Maggie Wilson, our blogging friend, kindly read my memoir, ‘Enduring Threads.’ One of her suggestions was that it might be better in two stories. This idea has given me the impetus to at least try a few things out. It sounds a lot easier than it proves to be! I have begun the childhood section removing insertions of later life. It is like playing with a jigsaw, trying to find the perfect fit. I never was quick with jigsaws, so this will set me a long winter task. I wish to include it in the WP Writing 201 program. Since I didn’t do the first program, I hope I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew.

14 thoughts on “Rewriting and resorting:

    1. bkpyett Post author

      Thanks Hilary, it sounds so simple!!! I am struggling to get it so, but at least it is better than it was… shall keep going. Have you done anything with your parent’s story?

      Like

      Reply
      1. hilarycustancegreen

        It is a complete manuscript, but I am once again revising it, as I have hopes that a historian will be joining me as co-editor, so I am following her suggestions in the (foolish) hope of mainstream publication. I don’t know about you, but I have far too much material and the difficulty is choosing the main focus (i.e personal history of my parents or social history of their war-time contacts and responsibilities). I think it all gets clearer with each revision – keep going!

        Like

      2. bkpyett Post author

        Yes, Hilary, the amount of material can be overwhelming. I shall be interested to hear how you get on. I am having a reshuffle and then having the m/s edited. I destroyed all of my diaries and letters in 2000, which was a good and bad action. Now I have to rely only on memories. That has reduced my research work!

        Like

  1. bkpyett Post author

    Well Christine, it is just a thing to play about with. It isn’t easy to keep to a time line…. so it won’t totally. But I have made some drastic changes, so we’ll see what happens!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. ChristineR

    It must be exciting all the same, Barbara, getting the go-ahead to expand the original. I like memoirs to be in chronological order instead of by subject matter, though it is hard, I’d imagine, not to skip ahead to say how an experience later repeated or resolved. Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Carol Ann

    Trust that your subconscious is at work for you, especially when you are asleep. Many memories are stirred up and each morning will be a real ‘awakening’.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Carol Ann, I am a constant dreamer. Like you I get many ideas, with my subconscious on duty each night! Good to hear that you enjoy some surprises too! 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

