Awards: Award Free?

This week Irene Waters http://irenewaters19.wordpress.com kindly recommended me for some awards, as did Jodie Llewellyn a few weeks ago for the Liebster award. http://jodiellewellyn.wordpress.com/2014/05/20/self-publishing-vs-traditional-publishing/ I feel greatly privileged to have receive their flattering messages. On consideration, I’ve decided to become an award free blog and decided they needed an explanation for this decision.

The reason for this is that I appreciate so many blogs; I do not want to choose some and not others. Perhaps it’s my egalitarian approach that we are all doing our best to improve our skills, and the competitiveness is a hindrance, rather than a help.

Inner peace is a wonderful concept; something I know blesses my life. Being a sister to you all is also a privilege, as I have never had a sister. I feel that being part of our family of bloggers has inspired me to write and hopefully improve my writing skills. Being there for one another has inspired me to try to keep up with the wonderful blogs that I like to follow. I know there are thousands out there that are worthwhile, but one has to be realistic about how much time one can spend blogging.

This is a short message to thank you all for your comments and your encouragement for helping me to become a writer. There will be times when I’m silent; hopefully that will mean I’m writing something that is taking me away from blogging. Then I shall reappear when the time is right.

If I could, I’d award you all for your writing endeavours, your persistence and helpfulness in making me feel like a real blogger, even though there’s heaps for me to learn. A big THANK YOU to you all!

Barbara

Ps. I shall attempt to put something on my blog to say Award Free, and you will all know that means thank you, but no thank you!

IMG_2156

Before the leaves fell

IMG_2152

Lemon tree and Wysteria covered tunnel

25 thoughts on “Awards: Award Free?

  1. Outlier Babe

    Barbara, this is so sensible, and I liked what you said about the time factor, as well. It is impossible to keep up.

    I just saw on Don Charisma’s site ( http://doncharisma.org/ ) an award I liked a great deal: “Not Featured on Freshly Pressed” I’ve included the link below, if you’d like to use it (as long as you credit him : ) I believe I am going to add it to my own blog, if I ever get back to that blog.

    http://doncharisma.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/doncharisma-org-not-on-freshly-pressed-award-3-300×300.png?w=259&h=259&crop=1

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Dear Outlier Babe, thanks for your supportive comments. I probably won’t get around to using the symbol you sent, but I do like it.
      Thanks for the link. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Jodie, my apology, my short term memory is dodgy! I shall have to investigate, it must have been Hayley… 😥 I’m so sorry!! thanks for telling me.

      Like

      Reply
  2. bkpyett Post author

    Simon, thank you for your support. I shall let you know when I manage to work out how to put an Award Free tag up! I’m not technically minded either…. 😥

    Like

    Reply
  3. simon682

    Beautifully and delicately put. I too have had to turn down an award or two and I wish I could have done it as nicely as this. I’m afraid I’m not really doing it for medals but to read good stuff and be read by nice people. (Let me know how to put a note up saying Awards Free. I’m not too technically minded or motivated.)

    Like

    Reply
  4. bkpyett Post author

    That sounds very sensible Joanne, as it makes a very time consuming exercise. Rules are only made to be broken… as the saying goes! o_O

    Like

    Reply
  5. joannesisco

    I understand the spirit in which awards are intended – and I’m very appreciative when someone chooses to give me one – but the structure of the award feels like a chain letter. That’s where I don’t like to play.
    I’m grateful to anyone who gives me an award, I will acknowledge it and the giver in a post, but I chose not to follow the other ‘rules’.
    Maybe that’s wrong of me to pick and chose the parts in which I’m willing to participate …

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Totally understand. To put up an award free blog picture I’m sure M-R would not mind if you borrowed hers or you could make your own, or put in images award free blog in your search engine and you’ll probably get oodles you can use. Just hold it down and move it onto your desktop. Then add it to your media. Then go to widgets and add an image to your sidebar making sure that you specify 200 x 200 for the size. Cheers Irene

    Like

    Reply
  7. Carl D'Agostino

    I hope I don’t get any more awards. Too much work with rules and at 65 I don’t have time to tell about my favorite book, movie or ice cream. Plus all the people I’d nominate have them all already.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Thanks M-R, Now to try to put up the Award Free Blog, I tried with no success! Maybe I’ve thought of another way….but I did see your icon page that you left on Irene’s so now can send you one of those, I hope. ❤

      Like

      Reply
      1. M-R

        Well, that worked fine ! 😀 Irene has now worked her way through the entire range but for the angry ones. [grin]
        I am going away to work out how to send you SIMPLE and NON-COMPLICATED directions … Stay chooned.

        Like

      2. M-R

        Ba my love, I have just done you a ghastly thing.
        :-\
        You can ascertain what it is by reading my post called “Huntie puts me on a spot”. And then you can decide whether or not to send me a letter-bomb.

        Like

Leave a Reply

