Ritual of the impromptu: Daily post

IMG_2475

Found objects with a little added paint create a hidden creature for the grandchildren to find when they visit!

Our days are organized around numerous small actions we repeat over and over. What is your favourite daily ritual?

Daily chores become so repetitive that they are done now before even thinking about them. For instance making the bed before breakfast. This hasn’t always been the case. When the children were small, I remember leaving them, as I thought there were more important things to do. My mother would come by, when I moved back to my home- town for a few years. She would quickly make the beds, incase anyone should see. It made me more obstinate and I didn’t care what others would think!

Now, in a less stressful time of life, the chores are incidentals. My aim is to fit something into the day that is above and beyond the mundane. It can be frivolous, something creative or planting a plant. Something extra! It might be sending the grandchildren a post card or writing to my elderly aunts.

We do have weekly rituals that are paramount. For instance: our Thursday lunch out together is something we look forward to. It gives the opportunity to discover new venues, or return to favourite ones. Having nearly lost my beloved to a heart attack, it makes me cherish each day. No-one knows what lies ahead, so living in the present and making the most of every day is essential. Shall include a few photos to show some of the odd things that keep me busy and tickle my fancy.

Paintings from up to 04 053

A small oil painting

Appliqued baby quilt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/just-another-day/

 

20 thoughts on “Ritual of the impromptu: Daily post

    1. bkpyett Post author

      We do a 4.30pm dog walk, as the nights are getting cooler. Have given up the early morning ones! Can imagine your spring walks discovering blue bells and daffodils exploding!

      Like

      Reply
  1. joannesisco

    A favourite daily ritual? Hmmm – I don’t think I’m a ritual kind of person. Having to do things repetitively makes me rather squirrelly. I guess that’s why I tend to constantly mix things up so they don’t get repetitive.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Some things happen without me thinking about them. But if I do have to think, eg. Cleaning, it’s likely not to happen! I like your squirrelly comment!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Martha Kennedy

    Interesting. I actually get a lot of comfort from routine chores. I had a major depressive crisis 20 years ago and the first realization I had that I was better was when I got up and washed the dishes. I understood then how wonderful that is, to make even such a small inroad against chaos. I’ve never forgotten it. I LOVE the idea of a “chain letter” quilt! http://marthakennedy.wordpress.com/2014/05/09/cuppa-joe/

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Yes Martha, I think those mundane tasks help to keep one grounded.
      I usually don’t do chain letters, but this one was sent by a girl that I’d worked with; it took my fancy and it worked!
      I guess you have to send to people that you think would be interested.

      Like

      Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Dear M-R, quilting isn’t hard. My first double bed quilt was made when my first marriage broke up. That was made all by hand, very therapeutic. I made one more for my mother and father, and since then have only made small cot size quilts for babies. This one is odd, but it is the only one I photographed! It was made with purple patches a friend sent as a chain letter, and the rest arrived from people unknown. I thought it a lovely idea! The hearts were meant to unify it a bit. It is only expensive if you buy the posh fabrics. My first was made with scraps from everyone or old clothes. It is still OK, but Chris’ mum’s fabric wore the worst, but I still like it.

      Like

      Reply
      1. M-R

        Don’t think I can, Ba … I’ve reached the stage where I really need to be shown how to do stuff first, and then I might be able to pick it up. I guess I’ll stick to the crochet and knitting … 🙂

        Like

      2. bkpyett Post author

        M-R, it sounds as if you have plenty on your hands to keep you busy! I haven’t kept up with knitting, had a couple of disappointments, so have left off! Do you knit jumpers and things?

        Like

Leave a Reply

