Revisiting the past:

Returning to my birth- place has always been an interesting visitation. Now that my parents and Chris’ parents are dead, the town has lost much of its allure.

Tasmania remains special; as for me, people are more important than places. Coming from a large family there are many cousins and a few straggling aunts and one remaining uncle in the north of the island. Three of my siblings have migrated south to the beautiful capital of Hobart nestled between Mount Wellington as its backdrop and the water. Unfortunately this time I am not able to get south.

Devonport is on a river and the sea. My youngest brother and his wife are also going to meet me there, to celebrate my mother’s youngest sister’s 89th birthday. These days frailty is a concern with the older generation, so it’s good to be able to visit them, while we still can.

Angus, my youngest sibling, is Master of a ship that travels from Melbourne, Devonport to King Island. He has always loved the sea, and has made it his life’s work. He is ten years younger than me, and therefore able to keep me up with things that would otherwise pass straight over my head.

For instance: The Madam at East Devonport won Tattslotto. When she went to buy cars for her ‘girls’ she asked for 10 cars. The man didn’t believe her, and was a bit short with her. So, she went to the car place next door and bought ten pink cars. (Have forgotten the make). She then asked for enough petrol to drive passed the next door’s agency, showing off her new car. No doubt giving him the finger.

Angus picks up on such tidbits, so hopefully I’ll get some news for you, on my return at the end of the week. Have a good one!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Revisiting the past:

  1. M T McGuire

    That’s a great story. I have a friend over here in the UK who comes from Davenport – one of the writers’ circle I attend. She’s in her 70s now but still talks about the place, so I shall look forward to telling her that story. 😉

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

    Reply
  2. M-R

    First time in me life I’ve been at ? degrees of separation from someone who won a lottery or the like ! 🙂
    My younger sister lives down there, in heaven (as posted); and I think Tassie must be a really beautiful place all over. Enjoy your few days away, dear Ba …

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Thanks M-R, It was better than expected, particularly catching up with my mother’s siblings. Such a joy to be able to spend time and listen to their stories. Having Angus there made it more special too.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Dixie Minor

    I have always been fascinated by the idea of a life at sea. . . I know it is the IDEA of it, rather than something I would really like to do. . . but still. I think that is really neat that that is what your bother does. I love the story of the Madam! Hopefully you will hear more colorful stories while you are there. I hope you have a good trip and a good time with family.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Thanks Dixie, it was fantastic, thought again, I’m glad to be home! I do love catching up with relations, even if they are more conservative than me!
      The air in Tasmania is so pure and everything is within easy reach.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

