Egg Shells and glass shards:

Home again, so much to say, but feeling gagged! There was so much I accumulated and wanted to share with you all, but daughter no. 2 proceeded to tell me the dangers of blogging:

  • Never use your real name, (too late!)
  • Change names of your family members
  • Never put up family photos (too late!) especially without permission.

As a result of sharing my memoir, ‘Enduring Threads’, with my three children, Daughter 2 has changed her surname….

Writing has been good for me, but I really didn’t think it would be so bruising to others. Perhaps I had sheltered them all these years and I hadn’t realized how affecting and hurtful the book might be. There is so much more I could have written!

My daughter-in-law read two versions and advised me of some changes she felt might be advisable. She floats above the flotsam and jetsam. I don’t think my son or other daughter have read the book, apart from the first 50 (fairly safe) pages. So, shall put it aside for a time and think about things… Perhaps to be published after my death? Then I could add those things I took out.

Fantasy- land beckons, where my fictional characters can do what they please and eggshells are not made of glass shards.

20 thoughts on “Egg Shells and glass shards:

  1. Daughter number 1

    I know better mum ;D xxx & Ive never been one to invest in the past & how it is told. Always knew you were an amazing woman though – love your blog!! Thanks for sending the link xxxx

    Like

    Reply
  2. helen meikle's scribblefest

    I agree with MR too, but I’m quite careful about photos of grandchildren and only use those their parents have already posted on Facebook. I do find, though, that even fiction’s quite tricky. There are various character traits and combinations of characters that I won’t use, in case they’re too close to the bone.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Yes, I shall have to be a little more careful, I didn’t think any of my family read my blog!
      It’s interesting to hear your response, thank you!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Maggie Wilson

    Hi Barbara. I started off blogging anonymously, but since I knew that my friends were following me, and anyone with half a brain could connect the dots, if they so desired, I dropped the barrier. So far, after four months, no regrets.
    If my one ex-husband, however, should stumble upon my blog, he would be alarmed, I think, and might react in a manner similar to your daughter. I mused about exactly that in a post and I refer to it often for the feedback I got from my readers. Here it is – it might help
    http://mcwilson1956.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/why-i-blog/
    I’d love to read your MS, too. You and I have much in common.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Maggie, have read your post and comments, very interesting! Guess it is something for me to sort out. I would love you to read the memoir, as I would respect your opinion. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      Like

      Reply
  4. bkpyett Post author

    Thanks Elaine, I feel quite in accord with using my own name, and sharing those of my family!!
    It’s just a pity not everyone agrees with that view!

    Like

    Reply
  5. M-R

    Barbara … I would like to reassure you. You daughter’s warnings apply to Facebook: they have not been proven to be relevant at all to blogging. Perhaps you should ask everyone who blogs under his/her own name – or allows it to be known – what problems they have encountered: I believe they will all respond as I have. None at all. In fact, your daughter’s warning you is the very first time I have EVER heard of anyone being afraid of blogging other than anonymously. I feel she is grossly overreacting – but to what, I have no idea. However, the fact that she changed her name does give me some … thoughts as to how she sees things.
    Please believe me: you are in no danger, nor is anyone in your family.
    And last but not least, I should LOVE to read your ms, if you’re looking for disinterested opinion.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Dear M-R,
      I might e-mail you! Thank you for your reassurance. I agree with you. As far as the ms I’d love you to have a look, if you’re interested!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

