Planning, planning, planning:

Retirement meant I had no deadlines, and I wallowed in nothingness and gardening for a time. Then with some broken bones, I couldn’t garden, and frustration set in.

Writing has meant that I have to plan. There are still chores that need to be done and lists ย prioritise so that I don’t forget. My short term memory is faulty. Writing, I lose all sense of time. Regular habits; (such as walking, are routines that help to keep Chris , me, and Millie healthy), are essential.

There are still things I put aside, for instance, seeking out publishers. That seems to go into the ‘one day’ basket. Family takes precedence. Tomorrow I am off to Canberra to see two children and their families. One 40th birthday and one 1st birthday are to be celebrated. These mile stones are important, things we can’t recapture if we don’t make an effort to be there.

Subsequently, I shall be off air for four days. Shall miss you all, but shall try and catch up on my return.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/prompt-wasted-days/

 

26 thoughts on “Planning, planning, planning:

    1. bkpyett Post author

      Thanks for your good wishes. (It was No. 2 daughter turning 40 and her baby turning 1). It was terrific seeing family, but always good to get home again too!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Phoenix Nights | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights | Alexia Jones

  4. Wordsgood

    Yes, those are definitely important milestones you don’t want to miss. I hope you both have a wonderful trip! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Don’t feel bad about your faulty short-term memory, because at least you know it”s just normal aging.

    The MS has my brain scans literally bearing a strong resemblence to Swiss Cheese, so at 44 my short-term memory is like that if a small child’s half the time. And it’s greatly affected my long-term memory too. Which I really woudn’t mind much if it had taken the parts of my life I’d rather forgret. But hey there! It’s not all bad; I can now re-read books in a much shorter span of time than ever before. And enjoy them just as much every time. Sure has helped to curve book buying addiction, which in turn helps my wallet! ๐Ÿ™‚ And it’s made more than a few boring shopping trips into Adventures when the dreaded. MS Brain Fog kicks in while driving. I know where I’m going on these trips I’ve done countess times, but every now and then the fog kicks in and I take, let’s say very “scenic” routes to get there.

    But ya gotta laugh about it, right? No matter the cause of faulty memory or any other part of ourselves that screw up, you have to laugh. Because the only alternative is to cry.

    Well, I hope I made you smile! ๐Ÿ™‚ Travel safe and have a GREAT time! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you don’t mind, but here’s a going away Hug just for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      What a lovely hug Wordsgood! I am sorry to hear you have MS, that must take some courage facing life. It’s good to hear you can see the good bits. Happy reading and hugs for you! x:-)x

      Like

      Reply
      1. Wordsgood

        No, don’t be sorry please. It is what it is. I’m not brave or strong, I’m just finally and oh so slowly, learning to accept that like it or not, it’s my life and the only one I’ve got.

        I’m still angry. Angry that I have it and angry that until late 2012 the doctors finally realized I hadn’t been faking symptoms for 30 years! And I’m still grieving over what it’s taken from me, being progressive form I fear what else I might lose.

        But again, I AM trying to make the best of it, and blogging is proving to be a huge help with that! ๐Ÿ™‚

        I only mentioned it to you in the hope that it would make you feel a little better about your own faulty memory. And maybe bring a smile to your face by reminding you that you are not alone. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. bkpyett Post author

        Thank you for helping me see things in perspective! I am glad that you enjoy blogging, it’s an addictive habit, but fascinating reading other blogs. I wish you acceptance and love,

        Like

  5. Pingback: On Procrastination and a Regular Audience | Thinking Diagonally

  6. Pingback: I’m A Life Coach? The Lazy Way | Edward Hotspur

      1. bkpyett Post author

        Dixie, I’m almost finished, and shall write about ‘Winter Wish’ very soon. Yes, i did have a wonderful trip, but as in my blog, there’s so much that I can’t write about!
        Frustrating, such fertile ground!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

