Daily Prompt: I walk the line

I still haven’t got the hang of linking this to the TDP page, but shall write regardless. This morning as I was gardening I thought about this prompt, ‘Have you got a code you live by? What are the principles or set of values you actively apply in your life?

Having been brought up in a time when religion was common place; though later rejected, it has left many things in my brain that I value. For instance the music. I love to be uplifted by religious music, or moved by a familiar hymn at a funeral. Those things are there, no matter how much I think I’ve moved on. Even in the garden thoughts flit through my conditioned mind. I was remembering when my eldest child was frightened at night. I was at my wits end. So, I taught her Psalm 23, that I had memorised as a child.  ‘ I shall lift up my eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, who made Heaven and Earth.’, or words to this effect. It seemed to help her and I was relieved and grateful!

Now I am thinking of the grandchildren, who have no religious background. Even though I’ve chosen not to follow a religious path, the ‘love one another’ has remained. I just wish that school could put in a course of Ethics, that would fill the gap where religion once was.

Little Jack asked me when he was four, ‘Does God have a Mother?’ His mother had asked me at the age of three,’ Does God have an umbilicus?’ Children do wonder and need answers, even if they’re the wrong ones.

 

19 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: I walk the line

  1. jmruiz87

    PS I had some difficulty with the link and pingbacks as well. I know where you’re coming from! My friend helped me out with it.

    Like

    Reply
  2. jmruiz87

    I also had a religious background but I’m not religious any longer. I’m sure you know this, but being around others who give you encouragement and to talk to about whatever is going on in your life helps a great deal. It’s good to hear that another person relate their personal experience in that area.

    Like

    Reply
  3. bkpyett Post author

    Thanks Helen, yes, the mac is causing me strife, but shall continue attempting the feat.
    Not today though! Thank you for that idea, I shall try that and see if it works.
    I had Psalm 23 at my wedding too, it’s different from the one I mentioned, but similar.

    Like

    Reply
  4. helen meikle's scribblefest

    Yep, had that psalm at my wedding (121 in the Anglican psalter.23 is The lord is my shepherd)
    If you type your post in Word first, here’s a simpler way of adding the link. Go to Daily Promp page, right click the URL and copy, then paste it at the end of your post. Then copy and paste whole thing into blog. (If you have a Mac, I’ve no idea.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Helen, Thank you for your logical instructions. I followed them today and it was so easy, worked first time!
      Thank you so much for your help!
      Barbara

      Like

      Reply
      1. M-R

        I have to know how that slash went missing, or I shan’t sleep tonight. Did you by any chance write that link out manually …?

        Like

  5. M-R

    Ba me auld darlin … here’s what you do …
    You open the Daily Post page and highlight its title –
    http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/30/prompt-walk-the-line/
    by hitting Ctrl + C, OK ?
    Then all you have to do is to edit the post you’ve just published by adding that URL from your clipboard – in other words, what you just copied – into your own article. Paste it in on the bottom, on a separate line,and remember to update your post.
    Now you’ve created a pingback: having put that link to the specific article in YOUR post, the people at the other end – The Daily Prompt people – see your post in their list.
    I’ll keep an eye on this and see if you’re OK with it all …

    Like

    Reply
    1. bkpyett Post author

      Thanks for baby sitting me M-R Petal! I have had a go,the NRL would only attach to the top line, shall go and see if it pinged!
      Thanks you so much for your care and attention, I do feel like a toddler in the bloggosphere.

      Like

      Reply
      1. M-R

        Ah, I see what you’ve done. You’ve copied and pasted YOUR OWN ARTICLE’s URL, instead of the Daily Post URL.
        I even included it in my earlier comment. Go back to that, then: copy the Daily Prompt URL I’ve provided, and then paste THAT into your own post …

        Like

      2. M-R

        Do this now.
        (1) Delete the one at the top: the link isn’t working, and I have no idea why not;
        (2) with your own article still open on your dashboard, highlight the one at the bottom and then scroll up to where you can see the menubars above your article: click on the paperclip icon which will then open to allow you to past the URL in. Do so. Save it.
        Click on update.
        Then we’ll check again …

        Like

Leave a Reply

